top of page

Recollection of the Devas

One of the 40 objects of meditation given by the Buddha = Recollection of the Devas.

Ajahn Punnadhammo noticed a parallelism between the first seven heavenly realms and the seven chakras of the body. He felt this made sense as many spiritual traditions (including Chinese medicine which is based on Daoism) see our bodies as a microcosm of the macrocosm: "as above, so below".

Ajahn Punnadhammo -

The heavenly realms are abodes, places of abiding, into which one can be reborn. They also represent levels of consciousness. We simultaneously exist in all these levels of consciousness, but may not have awareness of this. Our meditation practice helps open up our awareness to the higher levels.

The meditation Ajahn Punnadhammo has developed is an accessible way to do the Recollection of the Devas.

His guided meditations and Dhamma talks on this subject are found at:

- go to Dhamma

- 2020: Feb 24

- 2019: Nov 3

For Ajahn's book on "The Buddhist Cosmos" go to

- to to Dhamma

- Cosmology Book

The 31 Abodes

World of Sense-Desires

1. Hells

2. The asuras (titans)

3. The world of hungry ghosts

4. The animal world

5. The Human World

(Heavenly Realms)

6. Realm of the Four Great Kings Root Chakra (four petaled lotus)

Catumaharajika realm Earth element

Place of Guardianship

Half way up Mount Sineru

Protectors of the World Survival, safety, security,

Protect us from defilements groundedness

Thunderbirds, dragons, gnomes, ogres (Supanas, Nagas, Kumbhandas, Yakkhas and Gandhabbas): these creatures are the army of the four kings.

7. World of The Thirty-Three Gods Sexual Chakra (6 petaled lotus)

Tavatimsa Heaven the 6 senses

Place of Delight

Top of Mount Sineru

Sakka is the chief

Beauty, place of all sensual delights

8. Yama Heaven Navel Chakra (10 petaled lotus)

not connected to earth seat of emotions: when open,

no strife healthy and energized = oceanic

Place of Contentment and Bliss bliss

9. Tusita Heaven Heart Chakra (12 petaled lotus)

home of the next Buddha: seat of brahmaviharas especially

Maitrea (compassion) compassion

Place of Compassion

10. Devas Delighting in Creation Throat Chakra (16 petaled lotus)

Nimmanarati deva place of speech

whatever they wish, they can manifest seat of creation, expression

Place of Creation

11. Devas Wielding Power over Others' Third Eye Chakra (2 petaled lotus)

Creations seat of the will, power, intellect

Vasavatti deva The 2 petals refer to the two rulers

Ruler: Vasavatti of this heaven.....we can turn our

Rival: Mara, the tempter will to good or to ill.

Place of Will and Power

The Brahma Worlds

12. Brahmakayika Brahmas

Place of Illumination Crown Chakra (1,000 petaled feed on bliss lotus)

no gender, luminous

Lord: Maha Brahma

1st jhana

13. Abhassara Brahmas

2nd jhana

"Oh the bliss"

more luminous but flickers

14. Subhakinha Brahmas

wrapped in profound bliss

3rd jhana

no sound, rejoice in silence

15. Vehapphala Brahmas

dwell in equanimity: profound peace beyond bliss

4th jhana

+ 16 more heavenly realms

21 views0 comments


bottom of page